By Ken Best

Tracking Huskymania on and off the field.

Bruce Marshall Resigns As Men’s Hockey Coach

Bruce Marshall, who has been on medical leave since early November, resigned as head men’s hockey coach on Monday. Stephen Slade ’89 (SFA) for UConn

Two months after taking a medical leave of absence, men’s hockey coach Bruce Marshall ’85 (ED) resigned on Monday after 25 years as the coach who won the most hockey games in UConn history, winning 339 games.

Assistant coach Dave Berard, who has served as head coach since Nov. 6, will continue to lead the Huskies for the remainder of the 2012-2013 season, after which a national search will take place for a new head coach.

“During my time away from the program, I determined that this decision was in the best interest for myself, my family and the UConn men’s ice hockey team,” Marshall said in a statement. “I am extremely proud of the accomplishments of the program during my time as a Husky and I wish nothing but success for the team as it continues to make the exciting transition to Hockey East for the 2014-15 season.”

Marshall met with the Huskies’ ice hockey team on Monday to inform them of his resignation.

Marshall started the 2012-13 season ranked 12th all-time among active NCAA coaches in Division I with 332 victories. Since becoming a Division I program in 1998, Marshall led his squads to a MAAC Championship (2000) and six semifinals (MAAC – 1999, 2000, 2002, AHA – 2011, 2007, 2006) in the post-season conference tournament. The Huskies advanced into the Atlantic Hockey postseason every year since the 2003-04 season.

Before entering Division I competiton, Marshall’s teams earned eight ECAC East tournaments, four ECAC semifinals and one ECAC championship appearance. He coached seven All-Americans, 26 all-conference members, six Atlantic Hockey All-Rookie Team selections, a MAAC Defensive Rookie of the Year and an AHA Player of the Year.

Marshall became only the third head coach in UConn ice hockey history when he took over prior to the 1988-89 season, replacing seven-year coach Ben Kirtland. Prior to Kirtland, John Chapman served as Connecticut head coach for 21 years.

Marshall was a four-year letter winner in the UConn ice hockey program. He played in 94 career games, and as a senior was co-captain of the 1984-85 squad that finished with a 14-10 record and became the first Connecticut ice hockey team to make the ECAC playoffs.

Marshall won the Edward Jeremiah College Division National Coach of the Year Award and was named the ECAC Coach of the Year at the conclusion of the 1991-92 season. He was named to the East squad coaching staff for the 1993 Shrine East-West College Hockey Classic.

His involvement with USA Hockey included assisting with the Select Teams at the USA Hockey Festival in St. Cloud, Minn., part of the USA Hockey Olympic Development program. Also in St. Cloud, Marshall coached the USA Hockey Select 17’s to a gold medal at the Festival in the summer of 2000.

He served as Vice President of the American Hockey Coaches Association and also served on its Board of Directors for the AHCA for seven years from 1999-2006. In 2008, Marshall also had the privilege of being chosen for the selection committee of the Hobey Baker Award, the award given to the top NCAA men’s ice hockey player.