Robert McCarthy, American Pharmacists Association, Outstanding Dean Award

Robert McCarthy, dean of the School of Pharmacy, has been selected to receive the American Pharmacists Association’s Academy of Student Pharmacists (APHA-ASP) Outstanding Dean Award. The award recognizes deans who have made significant contributions to the APHA-ASP Chapter and have promoted with distinction the welfare of student pharmacists through various community service, leadership, and professional activities.

McCarthy was nominated by several UConn Pharm.D. students led by Carlie Hershgordon, president of UConn’s Pharmacy Student Government.  The selection was made after a rigorous national review. McCarthy is the sixth dean in the country to receive the award. He will be formally recognized at the National APHA meeting in March 2010.