Husky Teammates Help Storm Win Second WNBA Title

Three teammates from the Huskies’ 2000 NCAA women’s basketball championship team won another championship together on Thursday. Swin Cash ’02, Sue Bird ’02, and Svetlana Abrosimova ’01 helped the Seattle Storm win its second WNBA title, defeating the Atlanta Dream 87-84.

Cash scored 18 points, Bird had14 points, and Abrosimova scored 2 points, as the Storm completed a 7-0 unbeaten post-season.

This is the third WNBA title for Cash, who previously won championships with the Detroit Shock in 2003 and 2006. It is the second professional title for Bird, who helped the Storm win the WNBA title in 2004, and Abrosimova’s first WNBA championship.

After winning the 2000 NCAA championship, Bird and Cash won a second title in 2002. The duo will head to Europe next week to join the pool of players trying to make the USA Basketball team that will compete in the 2010 FIBA World Championship for Women in the Czech Republic Sept. 23-Oct. 2. The FIBA championship is part of the process leading to the 2010 Olympics. The head coach of the USA Women’s Team is Huskies’ Hall of Fame Coach Geno Auriemma.

Other former Huskies competing for spots on the USA team are Tina Charles ’10, Renee Montgomery ’09, Asjha Jones ’02, and Diana Taurasi ’05. UConn senior Maya Moore ’11 is the only collegiate player competing for a spot on the USA Women’s Team.

Related story:

Auriemma, Former Huskies Lead USA Women’s Basketball Team