Lacrosse, Tennis Earn Academic Honors

Women's lacrosse players were recognized for their academic achievements.
Women's lacrosse players were recognized for their academic achievements.

UConn’s women’s lacrosse team and men’s and women’s tennis teams have been recognized for their academic achievements during the 2015-16 academic year. Six tennis players also earned individual honors.

Six student-athletes on the men's and women's tennis teams earned individual academic honors. (Athletic Communications Photo)
Six student-athletes on the men’s and women’s tennis teams earned individual academic honors. (Athletic Communications Photo)

The UConn men’s and women’s tennis programs have been recognized by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) as 2016 All-Academic teams for achieving a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above.

In addition, six student-athletes garnered individual honors for achieving a grade point average of 3.50 or higher for the academic year. In order to earn the individual honor, a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 for the academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.

“I am very proud of both the men’s and women’s programs for being named ITA All-Academic teams,” said Glenn Marshall, tennis director. “It truly shows the players’ commitment to excellence in the classroom, while balancing the rigors of Division I athletics. All of our coaches stress the importance of time management and organization skills to our players, and this recognition shows how well they have succeeded.”

For the women, rising juniors Shea Flanagan (Overland Park, Kans.) and Summer Walker (Marietta, Ga.), and rising sophomore Gillian Perrotta (Scarsdale, N.Y.) were named ITA Scholar-Athletes. For Flanagan, it is her second-straight season earning academic accolades. Walker and Perrotta both earned the honor for the first time.

For the UConn men, recent graduates Jacob Spreyer (Denver, Colo.) and Andrew Ginzberg (Woodbridge, Conn.), and rising senior Parker Goldstein (Marietta, Ga.) were awarded ITA Scholar-Athlete accolades. Spreyer is a three-time honoree by the ITA. Ginzberg also was named an ITA Scholar-Athlete in 2015.

For a second consecutive season, 23 members of the UConn women’s lacrosse team were named the Big East All-Academic Team following the 2015-16 season, as announced by the conference in late July.

Of those 23 student-athletes, nine seniors, eight juniors, three sophomores, and three freshmen represented UConn on the list.

This year’s honorees include: Jessie Beer, Deryn Blaney, Alexa Bonnes, Kelsey Catalano, Alexandra Crofts, Kiera Dalmass, Olivia Eigel, Cassie Ekstrom, Alyson Fazio, Katherine Finkelston, Emily Giumetti, Brooke Jensen, Jacqueline Jordan, Lauren Kwasnowski, Grace McDonald, Shannon Nee, Cassie Perettine, Julia Simmons, Karaline Smith, Sarah Smith, Victoria Thompson, Ally Tilley and Maggie Tripodi.

To be eligible for the honor, a nominee must have participated in a Big East-sponsored sport, attained a minimum grade-point average of 3.00 for the preceding academic year, and completed a minimum of two consecutive semesters or three consecutive quarters of academic work, with a total of 18 semester or 27 quarter credits, not including remedial courses.

The Huskies were also recognized by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) as a 2015-16 Academic Honor Squad for earning a 3.0 or better cumulative team GPA this past year.