The School of Pharmacy to Recognize Three Alumni at the Annual Alumni Awards Reception

Three Alumni will be honored at the School of Pharmacy Annual Alumni Awards Reception on September 29th.

Robert S. Guynn, ’80 (PHARM), received the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Guynn was most recently serving as a pharmacist at the Middletown Medical Reserves Corps in Middletown, CT.

Robert Guynn

He received his BS from the UConn School of Pharmacy and then went on to receive an MBA for Health Care Professionals from University of Hartford Barney School of Business in 2004.  He also has taken several courses with the US Army Medical Department and US Army Aviation School.  Guynn has held leadership positions in the US Military and private sector since the age of 19 and has received many awards and recognitions including the UConn School of Pharmacy Dennis Chapron Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year award in 2016.  He has also been part of countless organizations throughout his career including the Connecticut Pharmacists Association, the Connecticut Society of Health System Pharmacists, and the UConn Pharmacy Alumni Association.

David L. Girouard, ’80 (PHARM), ’02 MPH received the Exceptional Service Award.  Girouard is currently the Central Region Director of Pharmacy at Hartford Healthcare in New Britain, CT.  His previous roles include Director of Pharmacy at Cardinal Health, Director of Pharmacy at Saint Francis Healthcare, and Director of Pharmacy and Diagnostic Services at Gaylord Hospital in Wallingford, CT. He received his BS from the UConn School of Pharmacy in 1980, an MPH from UConn in 2002 and is part of several associations: the Connecticut Hospital Association, the Connecticut Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Girouard has also been the recipient of several awards including the Connecticut Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ Paul G. Pierpaoli Award in 2017.

Amelia H. Arnold, ’09 Pharm.D., received the Tradition of Excellence Award. Arnold is a pharmacist and Vice-President of Pharmacy Operations for Community Pharmacies, LLC.  She received her Pharm.D. degree from UConn in 2009 and received an MBA from the University of Maine in 2022.

Amelia Arnold

She works closely with the Maine Pharmacy Association and the Retail Association of Maine on a variety of issues, including challenging legislation regarding drug importation in the State of Maine.   She has served as a preceptor for Community Pharmacy Elective APPE rotations for UConn, Husson University, and the University of New England.  She was the New Practitioner of the Year in 2012 for the Maine Pharmacy Association, the 2018 Cardinal Health GenerationRx award winner for Maine, the 2019 National Community Pharmacists Association Leadership Award winner for Maine and is the current Immediate Past President of the Maine Pharmacy Association. Arnold was also awarded the 2021 Bowl of Hygeia from the Maine Pharmacy Association and the 2021 Jim McGregor Government Service Award from the Retail Association of Maine.

The School of Pharmacy extends congratulations and a big thank you to the award winners for their work and dedication to the pharmacy field.