UConn Prosthodontists Honored At National Meeting

Two UConn faculty won prestigious awards for their contributions to the field of prosthodontics

Dr. Thomas Taylor and Dr. Foteini Toulomi with their awards at the 73rd Annual Scientific Session of the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics.

Two UConn prosthodontists were honored nationally for their significant contributions to the field of prosthodontics.

At the 73rd Annual Scientific Session of the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics (AAFP) in Chicago, Dr. Thomas Taylor, professor and chair, and Dr. Foteini Toulomi, associate professor, won prestigious awards.

“The entire SODM community joins me in congratulating both Dr. Taylor and Dr. Touloumi on the prestigious recognition bestowed by the American Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics,” said Dr. Steven Lepowsky, dean of the School of Dental Medicine. “These awards could not have been presented to more deserving or talented individuals, and what a tremendous honor for UConn’s Department of Prosthodontics to have multiple awardees in the same year!”

The AAFP presented three awards during the meeting, with UConn faculty winning two out of the three.

Taylor was the recipient of the 2024 George H. Moulton Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Art and Science in Fixed Prosthodontics for his significant contributions to the art and science of fixed prosthodontics and his demonstrated lifetime service to the field. This is the AAFP’s highest honor and named after one of the founders of the Academy.

Toulomi received the 2024 Claude R. Baker Faculty Award, which recognizes exceptional dental school junior faculty members and acknowledges excellence in teaching demonstrated by innovative teaching methods, student awards, and exceptional course materials. The award also recognizes significant contributions to the field of fixed prosthodontics through publications, presentations, and organization memberships.

Dr. Avinash Bidra, clinical professor and director of the post-graduate prosthodontics program said: “For decades, UConn Prosthodontics Department has been exemplary of the most dedicated and passionate prosthodontics educators! It is only natural for our faculty to be recognized by renowned national organizations – by honoring Dr. Taylor department head, with the Moulton Award for lifetime achievement in education and service, and Dr. Touloumi with the Baker junior faculty award. Our department’s future is bright!”