Karin Whiting Burgess

Author Archive

Philip Hritcko, associate clinical professor of pharmacy practice, has been appointed interim dean of the UConn School of Pharmacy

Philip Hritcko Appointed UConn School of Pharmacy Interim Dean

Philip Hritcko, associate dean for admission & student affairs and associate clinical professor of pharmacy practice, has been named interim dean of the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy.  Hritcko steps in as James Halpert, Ph.D., returns to his faculty appointment in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences after five years as dean. Hritcko will lead […]

Anand Gupta in the lab

Anand Gupta Cited for Cost-Saving Process in Cancer Treatment

The New Jersey Pharmaceutical Association for Science and Technology (NJPhAST), and its corporate sponsors recently awarded Ph.D. candidate and graduate research assistant Ãnand Gupta with a 2019 Student Scholarship in recognition of his research. It is the first time a UConn student has received this award. The annual scholarship is highly competitive and an important part of […]

A degree candidate holds a diploma case during the School of Engineering Commencement ceremony at Gampel Pavilion on May 5, 2018. (Peter Morenus/UConn Photo)

Watch School of Pharmacy Commencement Ceremonies Live Online

2019 UConn School of Pharmacy Commencements are available online via the links below: Saturday, May 11 9:00 AM Pharm.D. Commencement 4:00 PM B.S. Commencement Ph.D. graduates will walk in The Graduate School ceremony via the link: Monday, May 13 6:00 PM Doctoral Candidates/Ph.D. Please refer to UConn’s 2019 Commencement information for further detail. These feeds […]

Devra Dang meets with students to discuss a patient's diagnosis.

Urban Service Track Scholars Care for Underserved in Hartford

Complex. The word comes up time and again when describing the patients seen at the Burgdorf Health Center, a primary care clinic in north Hartford. Many of these patients have multiple chronic medical conditions, including diabetes, hypertension, dyslipidemia, asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, HIV – the list goes on. As one would expect, it can […]

Hannah Gardocki

Hannah Gardocki ’19, Pharmacy

Hannah Gardocki Major: Pharmacy Degree: Pharm.D. Extracurriculars: Honors Program, Pharmacy LEADERS Track, Industry Pharmacists Organization, APhA-ASP, School of Pharmacy Ambassador, Rho Chi, Phi Lambda Sigma Scholarship: Presidential Scholarship Hometown: Suffield, Connecticut Why did you choose to study pharmacy? I am passionate about science, innovation, and healthcare, and pharmacy was the major where these all came […]

Andrew Vilcinskas

Vilcinskas to Rep UConn at College Diabetes Leadership Retreat in Boston

UConn Pharmacy student, Andrew Vilcinskas, will attend The College Diabetes Network’s (CDN) first Leadership Summit in Boston on April 6. CDN has gathered young adult leaders in the Type 1 (T1D) diabetes community to share their experiences and prepare for a future in the diabetes sector. The group will discuss the unmet needs of the young […]

Pharmacy staff at UConn Spirit Awards

Spotlight on Unsung Hero Mary Ann Phaneuf, a UConn Spirit Awards Finalist

Mary Ann Phaneuf, Assistant Director of Experiential Education at UConn’s School of Pharmacy, was a finalist in UConn’s annual employee Spirit Awards in the Unsung Hero category.  Phaneuf is the cornerstone to every pharmacy student’s experiential education. Her job is to match students with introductory and advanced pharmacy practice experience rotations that meet and grow […]

Gregory Sartor receives NIDA grant and publishes research in the Journal of Neuroscience

Gregory Sartor, assistant professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, recently received a three year grant from the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA). The grant, titled Neuronal subtype and circuit-specific epigenetic mechanisms in addiction, involves studies that will utilize novel, molecular and genetic tools to dissect epigenetic factors that regulate drug-seeking behaviors in animal models of addiction. […]

Shreya Kulkarni receives Baxter's Young Investigator award

Shreya Kulkarni, Ph.D. candidate, awarded Baxter Young Investigator Award

Shreya Kulkarni, a multi award winning* Ph.D. candidate in the School of Pharmacy’s Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, recently received Baxter Pharmaceutical’s Young Investigator Award in Deerfield, Illinois at Baxter International’s headquarters. Kulkarni presented her research Factors Governing the Reconstitution Time of Highly Concentrated Lypophilized Protein Formulations at the awards presentation, accompanied by her advisor Robin Bogner, Professor, […]

Maria Latta

Maria Latta completes first UConn Co-op Legacy Fellowship

The UConn Co-op Legacy Fellowship is a relatively new funding program that provides support to undergraduate students who are completing self-designed projects that have a public engagement, social impact, or innovation component. Maria Latta ’20 (Pharmacy Studies, PHR) is one of the first group of four students to take advantage of fellowship opportunity. Her project, […]