SSW Faculty and Alumni Receive NASW Awards

Catherine Medina
Nelly Rojas Schwan
Nelly Rojas Schwan PhD, ’81 MSW

Dr. Catherine Medina and Nelly Rojas Schwan PhD, ’81 MSW were recognized by the Connecticut Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers for their contributions to the Social Work profession.

Associate Professor Catherine Medina received the Educator of the Year award. She is the chair of the Policy Practice concentration, former director of the Puerto Rican and Latin@ Studies Project (PRLSP), coordinator and co-instructor of the Puerto Rican Travel Study program, and a skilled instructor of many MSW courses that engage, challenge, and inspire students. She brings genuine care, encouragement, and enrichment to her students while serving as a role model and mentor.

Dr. Medina is currently involved in two Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) research grants. They are interprofessional grants looking at workforce shortages in geriatrics and behavioral health. Students receive a stipend and participate in specialized coursework developed by Dr. Medina.

Nelly Rojas Schwan received the Lifetime Achievement award. She has an extensive career as a social work practitioner, administrator, and academic. After graduating from the UConn School of Social Work in 1981, Nelly joined the staff at The Village for Families and Children where she worked as a caseworker, group worker, supervisor, and administrator. She has served on numerous committees and boards, and has received awards for her many contributions. In 2009, she joined the faculty of the University of Saint Joseph and in 2017 became Director of their BSW Program.