UConn Pharmacy Honored at Connecticut Pharmacists Association Awards Banquet

Left to right: C. Michael White; Corey Dinunno; Stephanie Gernant; Andrew Vilcinskas; Marrium Qureshi; Mallory Norman; Justyna Sudyka; Roy Walton; Marissa Salvo; Philip Hritcko (Photo courtesy Connecticut Pharmacists Association)

On September 12, the Connecticut Pharmacists Association held its 143rd annual Awards Banquet at the Hartford Marriott. It was a big night for the UConn School of Pharmacy with both students and faculty recognized with many accolades and awards. The School was also pleased to have many alums inducted as Fellows in the Association’s inaugural class.

2019 Bowl of Hygeia Award to Philip Hritcko

Philip Hritcko and Peter Tyczkowski ’78 (Photo courtesy Connecticut Pharmacists Association)

The School of Pharmacy’s Interim Dean, Philip M. Hritcko, Pharm.D., was awarded the top honor of the night, the 2019 Bowl of Hygeia Award, given to those who demonstrate outstanding community service efforts.  “This is truly an honor,” said Hritcko “and I am humbled to join the ranks of so many fantastic pharmacists, many of whom are here today. The Bowl of Hygeia is the most widely recognized international symbol for the pharmacy profession and considered one of the profession’s most meaningful, prestigious awards .  I was recently asked if I would change anything in my career as I reflect on my professional life. I would have to say that I would not change a thing because all of my experiences have helped me to develop a better appreciation for my life, family, friends, and colleagues. Thank you for this professional honor.”

Hritcko joins 52 other pharmacists across the country receiving the 2019 award – one from each state plus D.C. and Puerto Rico.

Faculty Leadership Awards to Marissa Salvo and Stephanie Gernant

Associate Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Marissa Salvo, Pharm.D. was elected as 1st Vice President of the CPA’s Board of Directors and was also inducted as a Fellow of the Connecticut Pharmacists Association. This will be Salvo’s sixth year working on the Board.

Assistant Professor Stephanie Gernant, Pharm. D., was awarded the 2019 UPSHER-SMITH Excellence in Innovation Award.

Left, Stephanie Gernant and right, Marissa Salvo (Photo courtesy Connecticut Pharmacists Association)

Pharmacy Student Scholarship Awards – 6 out of 7 awards to UConn Students

Justyna Sudyka (Pharm.D. ‘21) Henry A. Palmer Scholarship
Andrew Vilcinskas (Pharm.D ‘20) Gerard H. Weitzman Scholarship
Maria Latta (Pharm.D ‘22) Margherita Giuliano Scholarship
Corey Dinunno (Pharm.D ‘20) Milton S. Camilleri Scholarship
Mallory Norman (Pharm.D ‘20) Murray Abraman Scholarship
Marrium Qureshi (Pharm.D. ‘21) Steven J. Kruzshak Scholarship

School of Pharmacy Alumni Inductees

Inaugural Fellow of the Connecticut Pharmacists Association inductees:

Richard Carbray, Jr. (PHARM ‘75)
Annik Carrier (PHARM ‘04)
Angelo DeFazio (PHARM ‘85)
Marghie Giuliano (PHARM ‘75)
Cynthia Huge (PHARM ‘75)
Daniel Leone (PHARM ‘53)
Mary Petruzzi (PHARM ‘71)
Peter Tyczkowski (PHARM ‘78, BUS ‘85)

Elected as officers for the Connecticut Pharmacists Association:

Robert Picone (Ph.D., PHARM ’94, PHARM ’01) – Elected as President-Elect for 2019-2020
Peter Tyczkowski (PHARM ’78,  MBA ’85) – Elected as Treasurer for 2019-2020