Health Center Accolades – April 2012

Some of UConn Health Center's Top Docs 2012 as named by Connecticut Magazine.
A roundup of recognitions for Health Center faculty, staff and students.


Top Docs 2012

Congratulations to the 25 UConn Health Center physicians named by Connecticut Magazine as Top Docs for 2012.

Some of UConn Health Center's Top Docs 2012 as named by Connecticut Magazine.
First row: Peter Schulman, David Hager, Nancy Adams, Naomi Rothfield, Denis LaFreniere, Jeffrey Spiro, Pamela Taxel. Second row: Upendra Hegde, Patrick Coll, Kevin Dieckhaus, Carl Malchoff, Micha Abeles, Jane Grant-Kels, Douglas Albreski, Peter Albertsen and Robert Bona. Not pictured: Robert Arciero, Mary Chang, James Egan, Anne Kenny, Lynn Kosowicz, Hilary Onyiuke, Craig Rodner, Kevin Shea, Michael Steinberg. (Janine Gelineau/UConn Health Center Photo)

Endoscopy Unit Named EndoNurse All Stars

EndoNurse All Stars
Row 1, left to right: Carolyn Checovetes, Diane Bergen, Laura Sinisgalli, Anne Moskal, Lisa Shive. Row 2, left to right: Verioska Goulet, Brett Rae Glorzer, Annina Chase, Kathy Vinci, Terri Mulcunry, Linda Mladek, and Lauren Romaniello. (Janine Gelineau/UConn Health Center Photo)

The nurses and medical assistants in the UConn Health Center’s endoscopy unit have been named EndoNurse All Stars. They were recognized for their hard work and commitment to exemplary patient care.  They were awarded a commemorative plaque and were featured in a recent issue of the EndoNurse magazine.

Jeri Hepworth Named Chair-elect of Council of Academic Family Medicine

Jeri Hepworth
Jeri Hepworth. (Janine Gelineau/UConn Health Center Photo)

Jeri Hepworth, professor and vice chair of family medicine at the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, has been named chair-elect for the Council of Academic Family Medicine (CAFM) through August 2012, at which time she will take on the position of CAFM chair through August 2013.

CAFM is a task-oriented group made up of the four academic family medicine organizations:  the Association of Departments of Family Medicine, the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors, the North American Primary Care Research Group, and the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.

Hepworth, a family therapist, is the president of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. She has taught family physicians, primary care and psychiatry clinicians, and mental health clinicians for almost 30 years, with a focus on collaboration and team development. She is also director of faculty development programs for the School of Medicine with a special interest in mentoring and leadership development.

Glaucoma Foundation Grant for Mansoor Sarfarazi

Mansoor Sarfarazi
Mansoor Sarfarazi (left) has been awarded a $40,000 grant from The Glaucoma Foundation. (Peter Morenus/UConn Health Center Photo)

Mansoor Sarfarazi, professor of human molecular genetics and head of the Molecular Ophthalmic Genetics Laboratory, and immunology research assistant Roshanak Sharafieh will use a $40,000 grant from The Glaucoma Foundation to further their study of a gene defect related to an ocular condition known as pseudoexfoliation syndrome.

Follow the UConn Health Center on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.