Andrea Hubbard Receives 2020 Robert L. McCarthy Award

Andrea Hubbard and Pharm.D. student Kenneth Bisch at the School of Pharmacy's 2019 Professionalism ceremony.

The School of Pharmacy has named Andrea Hubbard, Ph.D., recipient of the 2020 Dean Robert L. McCarthy Faculty Service Award. This is an annual award presented to a full-time faculty member who has provided outstanding service to their department, school, the university, the profession of pharmacy, and the public.

Hubbard is an Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Toxicology, within the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. Her research areas of interest include the role of apoptosis in pulmonary inflammation and fibrosis, immunotoxicology, and cellular and molecular biology.

“Andrea is truly devoted to our students and School,” says Philip Hritcko, Interim Dean. “She was a member of our executive committee and leadership team for over ten years during her time as associate dean and continues to stay involved at every level of the School.  We are appreciative of her energy, enthusiasm and dedication to educating future pharmacists, instilling them with curiosity and passion.”

When asked about receiving this award, Hubbard said, “This is truly an honor for me to receive especially as it is named for one of my mentors, Dr. Robert McCarthy.  As for many faculty in our School of Pharmacy, our service activities especially outside the classroom, clinic and laboratory are directed toward students’ growth, progression and recognition that they “landed in the right place.”

Gaining her bachelor’s degree at Lambuth College in Jackson, Tennessee, Hubbard went on to the University of Tennessee Center for the Health Sciences to complete her Ph.D. in microbiology and immunology. Hubbard did her postdoctoral work at the Medical College of Wisconsin and the University of Arizona.

Hubbard joined the School of Pharmacy in 1988 as an Assistant Professor, and served as Associate dean from 2005-2015. She has been an associate professor of the School of Pharmacy since 1994.