School of Pharmacy Honors 2020 and 2021 Preceptors of the Year

The UConn School of Pharmacy’s 2020 and 2021 Preceptors of the Year were honored at a reception held on October 6, 2021.

8 individuals at UConn Preceptor Awards

L-R: Bruce Gould, Philip Hritcko, Melanie Masse, Jill Fitzgerald, Marc Cataldo, John Moyer, Colleen Teevan, Kathleen Adams

The UConn School of Pharmacy’s 2020 and 2021 Preceptors of the Year were honored at a reception held on October 6. This year’s ceremony recognized winners from the 2020 awards, who were not given a ceremony due to the pandemic, as well as those from 2021. All preceptors were selected based on student nominations.

Jill Fitzgerald, Director of Experiential Learning and Continuing Professional Development for the School of Pharmacy, was one of the hosts of the event.

“The overall purpose of this event is one way for our School of Pharmacy faculty, staff and students to say thank you! Thank you for your dedication and commitment to our School and our pharmacy students.” Fitzgerald remarked. “Thank you for providing our students with real world experience and wisdom. Thank you for the time you spend to help students see their path in our wonderful, rewarding profession.”

Colleen Teevan, Pharmacist, UConn School of Pharmacy
Colleen Teevan

The evening kicked off with the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Master Preceptor award from 2020. This prestigious industry award was given to Colleen Teevan, Pharm.D. (2010)  who works at Hartford Healthcare. The award is given annually to those who consistently provide leadership in the area of student preceptorship and dedicate themselves to the development of future pharmacists.

Next, Fitzgerald announced the Dennis J. Chapron Preceptors of the Year from 2020 and 2021. Dean Philip Hritcko welcomed the group and handed out the awards:

Introductory Pharmacy Practice Preceptors of the Year 

Community Practice

2020: Robert Jansing, Pharm.D. 1996 from CVS Pharmacy in Windsor 

2021: Melanie Masse, Pharm.D. (2014) from Stop and Shop in Clinton 

Health Systems Practice

2020: Robyn Bernard, Pharm.D. from Mid State Medical Center  

2021: John Moyher, Pharm.D. (2004) from Middlesex Hospital 

L-R: Philip Hritcko and Bruce Gould

Service Learning

2020: Jeannette Wick, (1979), Visiting Professor at the UConn School of Pharmacy 

2021: Bruce Gould, M.D., from UConn Health.

Advanced Pharmacy Practice Preceptors of the Year

Adjunct Faculty

2020: Joseph Serio, Pharm.D. (2008) from Yale Health

2021: Marc Cataldo, Pharm.D. (2002) from Purdue Pharma L.P.

UConn Full-Time Faculty

2020: Diana Sobieraj, Pharm.D. with practice at Hartford Hospital

2021: Kathleen Adams, Pharm.D. (2015) with practice at Lawrence & Memorial Hospital.