Class of 2022 UConn School of Medicine Student & Faculty Awards

The UConn School of Medicine Class of 2022 Senior Awards Luncheon was held on May 6. Find out which graduating medical students and faculty were awarded.

This year’s awardees include:

South Park Inn Clinic (Faculty Award): Dr. Jonathan Pendleton

Kaiser Permanente Teaching (Faculty Award): Dr. Michael Baldwin

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine (Faculty Award): Dr. Adam Perrin

Outstanding Inpatient Clinical Preceptor (Faculty Award): Dr. Jasmine Varughese

Outstanding Outpatient Clinical Preceptor (Faculty Award): Dr. John Waterman

Outstanding Educator (Faculty Award): Dr. Michael Baldwin

South Park Inn Clinic (2022 ONLY): Beth Sheils

James H. Foster, M.D. – Teaching Award: Elizabeth Rodier, Lisa Tamburini

Willms Pfeiffer Award for Excellence in Clinical Skills: Simon Archambault, Jacqueline Steele

Society of Academic Emergency Medicine Award: Brock Chimileski

CT Academy of Family Physicians Award – Family Medicine: Audrey DeFusco

Health Career Opportunity Programs – Bridge Mentoring Awards: Carla Rivera Perez,  Klair Lubonja and Nurudeen Osuman

Carl F. Hinz, Jr. Award – For Excellence in Scholars in Medicine: Aaron Holmes

Internal Medicine Award – Medicine: Rati Srinivasan

CT Chapter – American College of Physicians Award: Jessica Mary (Bertenshaw)

James F.X. Egan Medical Student Award – OB/GYN Award: Kelsey Manfredi

New England Pediatric Society Award: Caity Miller

Linda Ives Award: Caity Miller

The Connecticut Children’s Medical Center Community Service Award: Xanthe Dimas

Excellence in Psychiatry Award: Carla Rivera Perez

CT Chapter of American College of Surgeons: William Lambert

American Academy of Neurology Award: Crista Carty

J.E.C. Walker, M.D. Medicine and Society Award:  Jacqueline Steele (Primary Care) & Sandy Carpenter (Public Health)

UC 2022 Outstanding Student Women Academic Achievement Award: Kelly Tomasevich

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine: Suleiman Abiola

School of Medicine Awards for Excellence in a Specific Discipline: Simon Archambault (Ophthalmology), Tijesunimi “TJ” Oni (Urology), and Robert Romano (Physician Scientist)

Awards for Overall Academic Excellence – Merit Awards: Rhea Sindvani, Francine Zeng, Brett Chen, Christian Caceres, and Roman Drozdowski

Student Affairs Award: Klair Lubonja

Deans’ Award for Overall Academic Achievement: Marisa Boch

University of Connecticut Health Center Auxiliary Award: Rose Emlein

Lyman Stowe Award – School of Medicine: Evelyn Luner

School of Medicine Professionalism Awards: Brock Chimileski, Lauren Benedetto

Bulsara Award: Devin Bageac

Award for Leadership in the MD/PhD Program: Michael Chung & Grace Kwon