Linnette Vasquez ’23, College of Agriculture, Health & Natural Resources

Linnette Vasquez reflects on her time at UConn

Portrait of Linnette Vasquez

Portrait of Linnette Vasquez, March 24, 2023. (Sydney Herdle/UConn Photo)

Linnette Vasquez came to UConn with her Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine and experience working in clinical practice as a veterinarian. At CAHNR, she was a dual Masters of Science student and Veterinary Anatomic Pathology Resident (worked in CVMDL). She liked the mix of service and real-world training she received as a resident and the teaching experience she gained as a TA. After graduation, she is confident she’ll pass her board exams and work as an anatomic pathologist in either a research or diagnostic context.


What’s your major and why did you choose it?

My major is Pathobiology and Veterinary Sciences. I chose it because it compliments my DVM degree well in terms of subject matter.

What are your plans after graduation?

My plan after graduation is to pass my board exams and work as a board-certified Anatomic pathologist in the Tri-state area in either a research setting or as a diagnostician.

Any advice for incoming first-year students?

Reach out to your professors and to the myriad of resources available on campus early on if you are having any challenges be they academic or personal.

What’s one thing every student should do during their time at UConn?

Every student should go to the Dairy Bar! The ice cream is fantastic, and it offers a great opportunity to socialize with your classmates.

Who was your favorite professor and why?

This is tough question, but I have to say it would be Dr. Neha Mishra. She juggles many roles while always prioritizing her students and advisees, and I admire her for it.

What are you most proud of about your time at UConn?

I am most proud of my role as a Teaching Assistant/Resident. It allowed me the privilege to be a part of undergraduate teaching and hopefully make a difference in the learning experience of my students. They made being a TA fun.