Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering Elects 12 New UConn Faculty

Of the 35 CASE members inducted this year, 12 work at UConn

An aerial view of the UConn Storrs campus

(Sean Flynn/UConn Photo)

The Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE), an organization of academic and industry professionals who advise the state government on matters of science and industry, announced the election of 35 new members in 2024. Twelve of these new members — over a third — are UConn faculty. 

The elected UConn researchers span five schools and include two research administrators: Indrajeet Chaubey, dean of the College of Agriculture, Health, and Natural Resources (CAHNR), and Lindsay DiStefano, associate vice president for research development. 

“I am honored to be among the UConn faculty becoming members of the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering (CASE) this year,” says Chaubey. “This recognition speaks to the impact UConn faculty have on their fields of study as well as the residents of our state through research and discovery. I would like to thank CASE for recognizing these scientific accomplishments and the value our faculty bring to Connecticut.” 

Eleven UConn faculty were elected to CASE in 2023, and twelve were elected in 2022. UConn remains one of the largest contributors of CASE members, who each use their individual expertise to promote the application of science and technology to public welfare and economic well-being in the state. 

“UConn scientists, engineers, and clinicians make a profound impact that improves the lives of Connecticut citizens and industry. CASE induction recognizes their contributions and their capacity to shape the state’s future and culture of scientific excellence,” says Pamir Alpay, UConn’s vice president for research, innovation, and entrepreneurship. A CASE member since 2012, Alpay nominated DiStefano for membership this year. “I am proud to congratulate our new inductees and delighted to call them my colleagues.” 

The new UConn inductees are as follows: 

  1. Ali M. Bazzi, Charles H. Knapp Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  2. Indrajeet Chaubey, Dean, UConn College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources 
  3. Bodhisattwa Chaudhuri, Professor, UConn School of Pharmacy
  4. Yupeng Chen, Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering, UConn College of Engineering
  5. Caroline N. Dealy, Associate Professor, Orthodontics, UConn Health 
  6. Lindsay J. DiStefano, Associate Vice President for Research Development, UConn 
  7. Avinash Dongare, Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, UConn College of Engineering 
  8. Liisa T. Kuhn, Professor and Associate Department Head, Biomedical Engineering, UConn Health 
  9. Yi Li, Professor, Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture, UConn 
  10. Rebecca Page, Professor, Department of Cell Biology, UConn Health 
  11. Wolfgang Peti, Professor, Molecular Biology and Biophysics, UConn Health 
  12. David Pierce, Professor, Mechanical, Aerospace and Manufacturing Engineering, UConn College of Engineering

CASE also inducted UConn MBA Ravi Rajamani ’03, who is the president of the Independent Data Consortium for Aviation, located in Phoenix.

CASE membership is selective. Researchers are nominated and elected by the current membership based on their accomplishments in science, engineering and/or technology.  

Metrics for these accomplishments can include original published books and papers, patents, the pioneering of new and developing fields and innovative products, outstanding leadership of nationally recognized technical teams, and external professional awards in recognition of scientific and engineering excellence. 

The new members will be introduced at the Academy’s 49th Annual Meeting and Dinner at the Woodwinds in Branford, CT on May 21, 2024.