Director of Communications

Jeanne Leblanc

Author Archive

Dean Eboni S. Nelson Joins Statement on Capitol Insurrection

UConn Law Dean Eboni S. Nelson joined 156 other law school deans in a statement condemning the attack on the U.S. Capitol and efforts to overturn the 2020 presidential election. The statement, released Jan. 12, 2021, follows: We are deans of a diverse range of law schools across the country. We do not use our […]

New Ideas in Insurance: A Virtual ILC Speaker Series

Seminars Explore Breakthrough Ideas in Insurance

The Insurance Law Center at the UConn School of Law will offer New Ideas in Insurance, a series of online seminars by leading experts on cutting-edge topics, starting Jan. 21, 2020. The weekly seminars will be free and open to the public. “We invited leading experts from the academy, the bar, and the world of […]

Richard Ashby Wilson

Richard Ashby Wilson Named Faculty Dean at UConn Law

Human rights scholar Richard Ashby Wilson has been named associate dean for faculty development and intellectual life at the UConn School of Law. “Professor Wilson is an excellent interdisciplinary scholar and teacher and an outstanding institutional service member,” Dean Eboni S. Nelson said, announcing the appointment. “I look forward to working with him as we […]

Curtis Tearte, Michelle Duprey and Timothy Fisher

Law Alumni Association Honors Five Alumni and Former Dean

The University of Connecticut Law School Alumni Association will honor retired IBM executive Curtis Tearte ’78, disabilities rights advocate Michelle Duprey ’93 and Dean Emeritus Timothy Fisher in an online ceremony on Oct. 13, 2020. Three recent graduates — Dan Brody ’15, Aigné Goldsby ’16 and Lisa Marie Rivas ’11 — will receive the Graduates […]

Empires or Umpires?

Law Review Symposium to Explore Role of Courts

Separation of powers and the role of the courts will be the focus of the Connecticut Law Review’s 2020 symposium, entitled “Empires or Umpires? Political Questions, Separation of Powers, and Judicial Legitimacy,” to be held online Oct. 9. Legal scholars and practitioners will explain and debate the role the courts play in today’s politically polarized […]

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg speaks in the Reading Room in William F. Starr Hall at the UConn School of Law in Hartford on March 12, 2004. At right is her former clerk, Paul Schiff Berman, who was then on the law school faculty and who moderated a question-and-answer session.

UConn Law Remembers Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg made two memorable visits to the UConn School of Law during her remarkable career.

world map

UConn Law Welcomes Three Fulbright Scholars

The UConn School of Law will welcome three Fulbright scholars to study for LLM (Master of Laws) degrees in the 2020-2021 academic year. The scholars are Salome Chapeyama from Malawi, who will pursue an Insurance LLM, and Purmah Raamandarsingh from Mauritius and Ion Guzun from Moldava, who will each pursue a Human Rights and Social […]

Law Alumnus Endows Scholarship to Aid Veterans

A new scholarship at the UConn School of Law will help veterans and students who are active-duty military service members pay tuition and associated costs. Michael Callahan ’95 and his wife, Dr. Dana Weintraub, will establish the Mike Callahan ’95 Family Scholarship for Veterans this year. The impetus, Callahan said, was his belief in public […]

photos of workshop speakers

UConn Law Faculty Workshops to Examine Contemporary Crises

“Navigating Crises” will be the theme of the Fall 2020 Faculty Workshop Series at the UConn School of Law. The weekly workshops will feature presentations by pre-eminent scholars from around the nation, typically about works in progress, in order to share ideas and foster discussion among faculty members about some of the most serious issues […]

Fredrick Stevens in online class

Incoming UConn Law Class Shows Persistence and Resolve

The UConn School of Law welcomed a diverse, experienced and very determined incoming class of 169 JD students and 40 LLM students to a first semester that was redesigned to meet the challenges of a global pandemic. Classes began Monday for the students and four new faculty members, with a new dean, Eboni Nelson, at […]