Shawn Kornegay

Author Archive

Travis Kelce #87 of the Kansas City Chiefs reacts at Head coach Andy Reid in the first half against the San Francisco 49ers during Super Bowl LVIII at Allegiant Stadium on February 11, 2024 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The KC Chiefs and the NFL Should Not Be So Quick to “Shake It Off”

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Sandra Chafouleas shares insights on learning from Travis Kelce's Super Bowl sideline behavior.

Jonathan with Neag School alumni awards

Neag School Alumni Board Announces the 2024 Alumni Award Winners

Eight outstanding graduates will be formally recognized at the Neag School’s 26th Annual Alumni Awards Celebration on March 9.

A female professor sits at a table and instructs a female graduate student.

10 Questions With Tutita Casa About Mathematical Writing Research

The associate professor of elementary mathematics education recently co-published “Illuminating and Advancing the Path for Mathematical Writing Research”

Two women, one holding a book, smile at the camera.

Neag School, El Instituto Host Book Talk on ‘The Latinization of Indigenous Students’

Faculty member Rebecca Campbell-Montalvo’s new book explores how schools interpret and handle demographic data, potentially disregarding Indigenous identity and affecting access to resources

A female teacher uses a smartboard.

Around the Block: Evaluating School Schedules

Hannah Cooke, Neag School doctoral candidate in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, prepared the following rapid research brief with the Center for Education Policy Analysis, Research, and Evaluation (CEPARE). This research brief compares traditional and block schedules in schools and evaluates their impact on student achievement and other outcomes

Three female educators stand next to blue Neag School banner.

Neag School’s Office of Teacher Education Hosts Partnership Summit

The revitalized event welcomed school district representatives to Storrs and enhanced collaboration to benefit future teachers and Connecticut's classrooms

Adam McCready

Neag School Faculty Member Earns National Service Award

Adam McCready has received the Sue Kraft Fussell Distinguished Service Award from the Association of Fraternity/Sorority Advisors Foundation

Joseph Macary

Neag School Alumnus Joseph Macary Named 2024 Connecticut Superintendent of the Year

Macary ’94 (CLAS), ’05 ELP, ’16 Ed.D., superintendent of Vernon Public Schools, was recently recognized by the Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents

Two Dutch educators discuss PBIS with Brandi Simonsen.

Dutch Educators, Neag School Partner to Implement Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports

Last month, the Neag School of Education hosted a group of educators from the Netherlands to learn more about implementing Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS) in the classroom.

Kelly Lyman

Five Essential Skills for School Superintendents

Kelly Lyman, coordinator of the Neag School of Education's Executive Leadership Program, emphasizes essential qualities for superintendents: communication, team building, operational flexibility, instructional knowledge, and problem-solving.