National Awards for UConn Health Faculty

This fall UConn Health and its faculty have been applauded on the national stage for their accomplishments.  The most recent accolades include:

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Educator

The American College of Physicians (ACP) has announced Dr. Robert J. Nardino, assistant professor of medicine and program director of the Internal Medicine Residency at UConn School of Medicine, as the recipient of the Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows. ACP is a national organization of internists. Established by ACP’s Board of Regents in 2014, the award recognizes an ACP member who is a distinguished faculty member spending a significant amount of time teaching residents and fellows. Nardino has served in several roles at the ACP and was elected to ACP Mastership in 2019. Election to Mastership recognizes outstanding and extraordinary career accomplishments. The award will be presented at ACP’s Convocation Ceremony on April 23, 2020.


American College of Rheumatology Awards UConn Health Fellow

On Nov. 11 Rheumatology Fellow Dr. Aditya Pawaskar was awarded the first prize at the American College of Rheumatology national meeting for his presentation at its ACR Thieves’ Market, “An Astronomical Case of Rhabdomyolysis.” Pawaskar won among a field of multiple, very competitive submissions.


Dr. Kristina Zdanys Honored as Future Leader in Geriatric Psychiatry

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) and its APA Foundation Hartford-Jeste Award for Future Leaders in Geriatric Psychiatry, established in 2013, has recognized Dr. Kristina Zdanys as an early-career geriatric psychiatrist who has made noteworthy contributions to geriatric psychiatry through excellence in research, teaching, clinical practice, and community service and has demonstrated the potential to develop into a leader in the field. The ADA strongly feels that Zdanys demonstrated contributions and exceptional achievements.  Zdanys will receive the award at the APA Annual Meeting in April.


Alzheimer’s Association Awards Dr. Kevin Manning

The 2019 Clinician Scientist Fellowship Grant has been awarded to Dr. Kevin Manning from the Alzheimer’s Association. This grant will be used to study apathy as a risk factor for Alzheimer’s disease. Manning will be studying the biological signature of apathy and see how it is associated with both dementia and depression. The $172,000 three-year award will allow Manning to generate pilot data for future studies that may lead to earlier diagnosis of dementia.