School of Pharmacy

A photo illustration showing a packet of supplements containing the substance kratom, along with a bottle of pills that contain it.

The Kratom Controversy: Nearly 2 Million Americans Are Using a Substance Banned in Multiple States

The FDA says kratom is addictive and warns against its use, while it can be found online and in smoke shops and gas stations

Youssef Bessada named 2024 School of Pharmacy Teacher of the Year

The UConn School of Pharmacy Pharm.D. Class of 2024 has selected Youssef Bessada as its 2024 Teacher of the Year.

Four bottles of a dietary supplement containing the potentially dangerous ingredient tianeptine.

Known as ‘Gas Station Heroin,’ Tianeptine is Being Sold as a Dietary Supplement – with Deadly Outcomes

The synthetic drug has been linked to addiction, seizures, kidney damage, and death

Devra Dang Named Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award Winner

Campus Compact recognizes UConn School of Pharmacy professor, Devra Dang.

Advancing Pediatric Healthcare: Jennifer Girotto’s Dedication to Antimicrobial Stewardship and Immunization Advocacy

School of Pharmacy Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Jennifer Girotto, takes immunization advocacy beyond Connecticut and promotes antimicrobial stewardship internationally.

CRISPR and Other New Technologies Open Doors for Drug Development, but Which Diseases get Prioritized?

It comes down to money and science

Why Not Target Double-Stranded DNA for Cancer Therapy?

A team of UConn School of Pharmacy researchers have published their work in the Cell Report Medicine, highlighting groundbreaking advancements in treating cancer.

The School of Pharmacy is Pleased to Announce Raman Bahal as the Recipient of the Moderna Award for Biomedical Innovation

The RNA Society recognizes Raman Bahal as the first recipient of the Moderna Award for Biomedical Innovation in RNA

Diane Burgess Wins the Edward C. Marth Mentorship Award

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutic and Pfizer Distinguished Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology, Diane Burgess, is honored with the UConn American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Edward C. Marth Mentorship Award.

The School of Pharmacy is Pleased to Announce Kathleen Adams and Marissa Salvo as ACCP Award Recipients

The American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) recognizes deserving individuals for their significant contributions in clinical pharmacy practice. This year, Kathleen Adams received the Emerging Adult Medicine PRN Member Award and Marissa Salvo was named an ACCP Fellow